A New Era

Posted: August 11, 2012 in Conservative Politicians
Tags: , , , , ,

Ok. today is the day it starts. We have before us a new team of men who proclaim honesty in Government and it is up to us to decide of we want to continue down the path the country is going.

As far as I am concerned, I will choose the Romney/Ryan ticket.

Neither of these guys are my first choice for any place in the government, and I really believe that Paul Ryan would be best as a senator. I truly feel that Romney is an establishment Republican, and I have lost faith that the GOP establishment has the country’s best interests at heart. I was particularly disillusioned by the statement that “It is Romney’s turn.”  The reasoning that we need to vote for a candidate “That can Win” is utterly absurd.

If you read more of my comments on the election process, you will find my distaste for the current primary process. I really feel like the candidates were chosen for us by people who are not even a part of the republican party. The only way to solve this is to have closed primaries that can only be voted on by people who have registered as a particular party member. Otherwise, you have most of the other party voting for a candidate that is “Least Likely to Succeed” when the general election occurs. A prime example of this was the McCain/Palin ticket.  While Palin would have been a good choice, it is quite obvious that McCain was a candidate with a few screws loose. Some of his comments he has made int he last 3 years make me cringe with their inaccuracy and his complete lack of grasp of what the American people really want in Government.

Here is another scenario:

For the sake of a good argument, let’s say that Romney win’s the election and becomes the President. Four years from now, we will have a Democratic challenger. What is to stop Republicans from voting in ALL of the Democratic primaries and putting into place a Democratic candidate that is a STRONG Tea Party candidate?  I consider myself to be more aligned with the GOP, but that tie that was once really strong is very weak at the moment and I would gladly vote for a Democrat if they truly had the same convictions for smaller government and less regulations on businesses and individuals. As a matter of fact, I am seriously considering voting for a Democrat in the Tennessee Senate race with Bob Corker being the GOP Incumbent candidate. It is my belief that Bob Corker is a RINO and has shown he does not hold the same ideals that I do as far as smaller, less demanding government. Lamar Alexander will be my next target because he also has shown no courage to slow down or reverse the growth of Government.

Only time will see now. We have roughly 90 days left before the general election. I really do hope that the American people turn out to vote in record numbers  and make some serious changes in our Government. From the President down to the local yokel, we need changes. SERIOUS changes.

Leave a Reply

